Located in the South Pacific Ocean, midway between South America and Australia and A French overseas dependency, French Polynesia comprises of five groups of islands.

The island groups are the Austral Islands, Bass Islands, Gambier Islands, Marquesas Islands, Society Islands (including the largest island Tahiti) and the Tuamotu Archipelago.

The islands of Tahiti, Bora Bora, Clipperton and Rapa, are popular for thir beaches, coral reefs and Polynesian culture. The Tahiti Lagoonarium in Pape’ete that is a combination of fish park and aquarium displays the myriad variety of underwater life with 1000 different species of fish and other marine creatures. Tahiti and French Polynesia have historically been viewed by the West as an idyllic tropical paradise and are depicted in the works of the painter Paul Gauguin and the writer R.L. Stevenson.

Getting There

French Polynesia can be accessed by flights from Paris and the United States to the different islands of the archipelago.

Weather & Climate

The climate is tropical in nature, but moderate. Prone to cyclonic storms in the month of January, the islands can sometimes get very humid.